Casa cu Cerb guesthouse is situated in the medieval fortress of Sighisoara. Monument is categorized. The name is due to exterior wall painting, representing a deer in size, and head trophy mounted on the wall. Cerb house is one of the oldest buildings in the Castle and the most interesting in terms of architecture. During the time he suffered numerous and profound changes, from the rudimentary wooden house (XIII th) to form complex in the final section. XVII and preserved until today. In all this time, the Casa cu Cerb destination of payments. It was inhabited by people with high-function administrative or judicial clerical / religious. Between 1997-2001 the Casa cu Cerb was restored and fully competent in care Messerschmitt Foundation in Munich, the first destination of cultural Roman german.
Room facilities:TV, Telephone, Satellite Channels Heating, Dressing Room, Shower, Bath, Hairdryer, Toilet.
Hotel facilities: rooms for conferences, meetings and seminars with all the technical facilities for up to 40 participants;- restaurant, café, confectionary with own gastronomy.
- Meeting/banquet facilities
We are sorry, there are no reviews yet for this accommodation.
Sighisoara Medieval Citadel
Sighisoara Medieval Citadel – one of the most beautiful and best-preserved medieval towns in Europe
Founded by Transylvanian Saxons during the 12th century, Sighisoara (Schassburg in German) still stands as one of the most beautiful and best-preserved medieval towns in Europe. Designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, this perfectly intact 16th century gem with nine towers, cobbled streets, burgher houses and ornate churches rivals the historic streets of Old Prague or Vienna for atmospheric magic. It is also the birthplace of Vlad Dracula, also known as Vlad Tepes (Vlad the Impaler), ruler of the province of Walachia from 1456 to 1462. It was he who inspired Bram Stoker’s fictional creation, Count Dracula.
Sighisoara’s citadel was built in the 12th century, when it was known as Castrum Sex (Fort Six), and was further strengthened and extended in the 15th century. The name must have existed long before, as the Saxons built their walled town on the ruins of a former Roman fortress. In 1298, the town was mentioned as Schespurch, while in 1367 it was called Civitas de Seguswar. The name of Sighisoara was first noted in a written document issued by Vlad Dracul, Vlad the Impaler’s father, in 1431.
Sighisoara was not the biggest or richest of the seven Saxon walled citadels* in Transylvania, but it has become one of the most popular. A walk through the town’s hilly streets with their original medieval architecture, magical mix of winding cobbled alleys, steep stairways, secluded squares, towers, turrets and enchantingly preserved citadel, is like stepping back in time.
Culture and historyThe Citedel Square lies at the heart of the citadel. In the old days, street markets, craft fairs, public executions and witch trials were held here. From this square, you can easily access the main attractions of Sighisoara. Sighisoara's main point of attraction is the Clock Tower, also known as the Council Tower, built in the second half of the 14th century and expanded in the 16th century. The four small corner turrets on top of the tower symbolized the judicial autonomy of the Town Council, which could apply, if necessary, the death penalty. Not far from the Clock Tower stands the Church of the Dominican Monastery. First attested in a document in 1298 as part of a Dominican monastic settlement, the church became the Saxons' main Lutheran church in 1556. The monastic complex demolished in 1888 and its place was taken by the present town hall. Only the church has remained from the original structure. To the north of the Clock Tower stands one of the most representative gothic-style structures in Transylvania, the Church on the Hill - so called because of its location on the School Hill (1,373 ft high). First mentioned in a document in 1345 and superposed on a former Roman basilica, its construction lasted almost 200 years.
Initially a Catholic church, it became the main church of the Saxon inhabitants of Sighisoara, who had shifted from Roman Catholicism to Lutheranism after the 1547 Reform. The church is reached by a covered wooden staircase known as the Scholars' Stairs. Built in 1642, the covered stair-passage was meant to facilitate and protect schoolchildren and churchgoers on their climb to the school and church during wintertime. Originally, the stairs had 300 steps, but after 1849, their number was reduced to 175.
The Vlad Dracul House is located in the Citadel Square, close to the Clock Tower. This ocher-colored house is the place where Vlad Tepes, the inspiration for Bram Stoker's famous Dracula, was born in 1431 and lived with his father, Vlad Dracul, until 1435 when they moved to Targoviste. A wrought-iron dragon hangs above the entrance. The ground floor of the house serves as a restaurant, while the first floor is home to the Museum of Weapons.
We are sorry, there are no rooms available at this accommodation at the moment